Poets logo

The Frozen World before Us

Stretches Out Comforting White

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
14
The Frozen World before Us
Photo by Josh Hild on Unsplash

Early morning white

Upon the world at large

Dewdrops frozen crystalline

The first day of winters onslaught

***

Cobwebs strewn across open windows

Blowing gently in the cool breeze

Icy intricacies of spider's webs

A wiry white trapeze

***

Chest full of frozen air

Invigorating and free

I feel my senses come alive

And take in the beauty, all around me

***

A carpet of crisp white

As far as the eye can see

White flakes are frozen high

On the boughs of every tree

***

Clouds pregnant overhead

Ready to birth more snow

Frozen acrobats of frozen flakes

Consuming all below

***

A time of wonder and a time of joy

For those of us young at heart

Building snowmen and making snow angels

And from flying snowballs, we dart

***

I love the crispness underfoot

And my cool breath turning white

The exhilarating slide downhill

My seasonal delight

***

It has always been this way for me

When the first snow of winter comes

While others scowl and shiver

I happily await, the first snowflake on my tongue

nature poetry
14

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.