Poets logo

The Forgotten Treasure

An epic adventure poem about a man who goes in search of the world’s biggest treasure

By Srinidhi RanganathanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Forgotten Treasure
Photo by Peter Olexa on Unsplash

I set out on an epic adventure,

In search of the world’s biggest treasure,

'The Elixir of Immortality',

the one that grants eternal life,

which is forgotten by mankind

that was lay hidden for centuries in an old temple

I stopped for a moment to catch my breath. 

The jungle was sweltering, 

and the path was anything 

but easy to navigate, even with my skills. 

The treasure that had been lost for at least five hundred years. 

that was what I was looking for.

I had a map that told me where it was hidden, 

but not how to get there.

I’d been on this quest for three days so far, 

still without any sign of the temple. 

I pushed through some vines, 

and they snapped back to lash me in the face.

My footfalls on the dry ground had disturbed creatures of the deep woods,

They scurried over rotting leaves and brittle sticks.

Searching for a way out of the sun’s blinding rays.

I pushed away from the pain of the slap and pushed on. 

I had to find this hidden temple.

It would be there, I had to believe it was.

Deep in the jungles of an unknown land.

I trekked on for hours through a dense jungle.

I had to stop to catch my breath.

The thick vines were so thick, that I could barely shine my light through. 

I could barely make out the path. 

The treasure must be close, 

But I was starting to get scared.

So scared in fact that I had to stop for a moment to give myself a pep talk.

It will be there. 

You will find the treasure. 

You have to keep going, I thought.

At last, I reached the temple,

The doors opened,

revealing the ancient structure. 

I hurried over the steps,

wondering what wonders I’d find!

I made my way inside,

and walked through the maze of corridors,

hoping that I’d find it soon.

Finally, I came to the room,

The treasure was scant meters ahead,

Swords were impaled on the wall.

The treasure was just beyond.

I clutched my heart in anticipation,

I raced over and pounced.

At last, my hands were around the treasure’s handles,

Once I lifted it in my grasp,

my body dropped lifeless to the ground.

I started for the door,

But got tangled in vines as I reached for it,

The vines disappeared with a snap,

only to reappear again once I stopped to breathe.

When I woke up,

I was in the temple surrounded by bats,

Did I find the treasure? I asked.

No, it wasn’t there. 

Did I see anyone else around here?

A chill ran through my spine and I heard a voice.

“Dear human”, it said.

“Why do you want the treasure? Give me a reason

why you want to stay immortal”.

I stared at the bats.

I’m alone, I whispered.

“Go on, answer”, it said.

These words don’t matter, I may not get the treasure,

And so I said: “I don’t have anyone to live for.”

And the voice said:

“The world has forgotten you, haven’t they?”

I said: “They have.”

I heard my heart beating…

I was alone…

All my dreams had crushed before me,

And I will be dead now, I thought.

The voice said

“You have to go a long way,

You deserve to get the treasure,

Make good use of it,

and never part with it.

Give it to the righteous ones and the ones who need healing.

and the ones who always think good for the world”.

Joy engulfed me.

I finally walked out of the woods, only to find myself standing before a town,

A village – it seemed to be.

A new adventure awaits me.

I’m ready to save the world, I think.

I’ve become a hero after all.

I may have reached my journey’s end, as you may think

I get to drink the Elixir of Immortality 

and make sure the world can see the truth.

I let my heart mend – but now I have an adventure in sight.

Time is short.

I have new goals and targets.

I’ll be remembered by all.

But, my quest begins only now.

I’ll meet people who will need my help,

And I’ll heal them.

They’ll bless me with the goodness

And I’ll live for the rest of eternity…

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Srinidhi Ranganathan

I hold a degree in English Literature. I love reading books and writing is my passion. "Dream of Rainbows" is my first book for children. I love to write fiction, non-fiction and blog articles on popular topics. Happy reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.