Poets logo

The Forest of Chaos

Calm in the Storm

By Kayton HickenlooperPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

As I walk through the forest of chaos

It is like a tornado of jabber floating through the air

No knowing which way to turn

Someday who to even talk to

The ground is on flames

The trees are high

Branches so thick

That you can hardly see daylight

Some moments sad

Some angry and blue

Remaining calm is something that I never knew

They say it is a time for change

And storms happen all of the time

It feels as if I've walked into the wizard of oz

And my only thoughts are I want to go home

Snuggle in my bed and pretend it is Sunday

With monsters around

It makes the lions, tigers, and bears look harmless

But we are all stuck in the mud of thoughts

Am I worthy

Am I good enough

Can I make it through the day

Oh blessed be

Can it finally rain?

Wash away the clutter

The jagged and the jabber

Can the winds come and carry the noise away

Lifting all the nonsense that is consuming my mind

I know I'm okay

These storms are all so familiar

Just continuing to breathe

I could be grasping for air

But all I know that this too

Will soon pass

And all I have left to say is thank you

art
Like

About the Creator

Kayton Hickenlooper

I write to clear my mind. To get out of the fog of daily confusion. An artist by heart. To live, laugh, and grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.