Poets logo

The Forest

A poem.

By Deborah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
The Forest
Photo by Steven Kamenar on Unsplash

I spent a lot of time as a youngster walking through forests. My parents didn't have a lot of money, so at weekends, or during school holiday times, we would pack the car full of food for a picnic, and set off somewhere we could have a good walk, and we mostly went for forest walks. We mainly visited evergreen forests, where soft mosses clung to old stone walls along pathways; where we could hear the sound of a powerful river beyond the trees; where we could hear shrill cries of small birds from high up in the canopy.

But I always thought about what was going on beneath the soil. Did the trees communicate? Did other plants and fungi form a part of the tree communication highway? I wrote this poem to explain what I imagined in my head, and what I still imagine, now, many years later.

The Forest

A great piece of curved landscape,

Occupied by silent sentinels.

They stand in long rows,

Further than I can see.

A cavern of darkness

Between the Scots pines

Swallows the light

And my ability to see too far

Off the track.

****************

Limbs touch neighbours' limbs,

Whispering, and sharing secrets

In a language only they know.

They look forward. Ahead.

They are giant arboreal kings,

With towering, conical stature.

****************

Secrets and codes pass constantly,

Under the humus, the soft leaf litter;

A sweet perfumed layer

They make with gentle tumbles

Of pale brown needles.

A carpet for kings.

***************

In the dark subsoil, roots converge with roots,

With ethereal tendrils of fungi,

A kaleidoscope of bacteria.

Sending signals, messages, aide,

Ensuring all are kept nourished, strong

In the quiet green kingdom.

I hope you enjoyed my poem. If you did, thanks, and feel free to share or 'like'.

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Deborah Robinson

I'm new to the 'writing for real' scene. Previously, I've kept my poetry and writing under wraps in a fancy notebook, but now I've decided to give it a proper go!

I hope you enjoy my work.

Thanks, Deborah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.