Poets logo

The Fool

Jester Curse

By Christopher FosterPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I play the part of the fool. I play it well for my foolish King. He laughs and chuckles, upon his throne. As my dagger begins to sing.

Oblivious and drunk. Too glutton to even move. He is the definition of sloth and me, nothing to lose.

A slight motion of his hand, and everyone is dismissed. His eyes too heavy to keep open and a goblet of wine in his fist.

Deep becomes his breathing, as I am a shadow on the wall. Soon his heart will stop beating and I will rule them all.

Two paths I could take to end his wretched life. Some poison in his drink or a song from my knife.

I glide to the throne with not a shimmer of a sound. My blade singing loud to the tempo my heart pounds.

Blade to his neck and it's time for the final verse. I'm one move away from ending this jester curse.

There's a clang on the ground and the spilling of wine. I'm shocked you see for i have yet to slay the swine.

I look up and see who has disturbed my performance. Only to see the child prince a blistering annoyance.

A scream echoes through the court that sounds more like a princess. I say, Quiet, my brother but his wails are relentless.

With that, my Father, the King's eyes open wide. To my brother and then me, whose claim has since been denied.

Our eyes meet and he knows this is the end. I raise my dagger high for his throat I shall rend.

As my dagger flies down, the sweet harmony i'll hear. The screams of the end and my reign oh so near.

I feel a prick in my heart to this jokes end. For my brothers screams brought all the guards in.

Before my blade can perform its final number. The arrow in my heart takes me to my eternal slumber.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Foster

I was born on May 16, 1988. I’ve started several stories that will probably never be published. I enjoy painting and playing music. I’m married to an amazing woman and I am thankful for her and her constant support in my endeavors.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.