Poets logo

The Flowers

Poem - 005

By Kaliyah MyersPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2

Poem- 005, The Flowers

I stared at the desolate land around me,

Not even a blade of grass beneath me.

The sky is endlessly gray.

In a land where my sanity slowly began to frey-

Your shadow crossed my path,

Once, twice, I can see it at night.

I asked why you come by and you smiled,

“You can see me? Why?”

I guess it was because I saw this before.

Maybe I was a lost shadow too, nothing more.

But you showed me things I’d never seen or heard.

You led me to a far-off forest,

where the trees were endlessly green.

The porch where the wind blew,

That night where the bats flew,

The strange plants that bloomed...

I took their seeds and made my home,

I planted them in the desolate ground…

That ground where my shadows roamed,

Even though you're lost-

I still found,

Your comfort in the ground.

- Kaliyah Myers, a Poem to a soon to be book named, The Mad Project

Thank you for taking the time to give this a read! Any and all feedback is highly appreciated and if you would please, drop a like and a follow! If you comment, I'll be able to see you and do the same in return! Thank you, Thank you! See you all another time!

artinspirationalsurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Kaliyah Myers

"Change is imperative. But the kind of change is the most important detail."

In being a writer, I hope to share something relatable and adventurous that you can love too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Beautiful, great work!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Truly beautiful, the last lines were impactful and masterful ❤️

  • Outstanding

  • Dr. Constance Quigleyabout a year ago

    I love this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.