Poets logo

The flower

-

By The Invisible WriterPublished 3 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
4

I watched her grow like a flower

A petal floating in the wind

I stood a silent observer

To the loss of time

I don't think she could see me

I was just a fading image

~

In the dark abyss of unrequited love

Only fate remained, time telling a story

The ending unknown, the last page unread

A million possibilities, just out of reach

~

I waited for her to see me

Before time was lost

I listened to a quiet breeze

Blow silently through a

Corner of my soul

Telling me, my chance

Was already gone

~

I stood a passing reminder

To things left unsaid

Looking out beyond this place

I watched her on the horizon

A silhouette dancing

In the moonlight

Fate whispered in my ear

I would always be

As far

As I was

As far as the flower

From the sun

~

I traced a tear running

Cold from my cheek

I gave hope away

In bitter pieces of despair

I felt a tidal wave

Crashing against the shore

Of my empty heart,

A lonely goodbye

To a misplaced hello

~

I confessed love in words

I whispered into the abyss

my voice drifted

in the expanse

stretching

between us

I don't think she could hear me

I was just an invisible silence

~

I turned from her, knowing

I was forgotten

Before I was remembered

I passed from her cinema screen

A single frame of film, unseen

A flickering of flame, extinguished

Still, in the briefest of moments

I shared with her

A life unknown, forever undiscovered

A shadow in the distance

A petal floating in the wind

love poems
4

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    This is absolutely beautiful, made me sad, made my heart ache. It is a lovely song, flower/love please hear the song.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    I find myself heart broken and speechless in the wake of this beautifully devastating piece. I sit in bated breath as I read it several times over. Your word choices and use of metaphor is simply moving beyond measure. You did an amazing job portraying the raw emotions of the narrator! This was inspiring, TIW! 💜

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    So heartbreaking, so sad, so unheard. “my voice drifted in the expanse stretching between us” So beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.