Poets logo

The Flames In The Water

#metoo

By Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr BurnsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

There is a shower or a bath that all of us take.

Those of us who have had our bodies violated

And our souls shredded.

The heat of the water is as high as we can bear without melting our own flesh from our bruised, bleeding and broken carcasses,

Husks we do not recognise and may never learn to love again.

We scrub and we scrub until we’re raw,

But even that cannot remove the grime that we see there.

We all recognise the bodies bath in that fire

And the marks they leave behind.

My friend emerged from the bathroom after thirty minutes,

Looking as though she had submerged herself in red paint.

Steam rose from her

And her eyes seemed only half alive.

I knew.

It broke both of our hearts all over again because she realised there was only one way I could have seen it;

I saw myself in her towel.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr Burns

"I was always an unusual girl

My mother told me that I had a chameleon soul

No moral compass pointing due north

No fixed personality...

...With a fire for every experience and an obsession for freedom"

-Lana Del Ray

Ride

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.