Poets logo

The Finch

And My Heart

By Zoe MizePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

There is a finch that lives trapped inside of my ribcage.

She sings songs into my veins and flaps her wings against my heart.

If you press your ear against my chest you’ll hear her.

She likes to tell my secrets to anyone that will listen.

Come close, she needs new friends.

Her feathers are soft and brown,

Her body is small.

If you reach your hand into my chest you could take her.

She might not fight you.

Sometimes I think all of her beating and singing is meant to tell me to let her out.

But it’s hard to open up the place around my heart.

She wants the sun and the open sky,

But if I let her go she might never come back.

And then I’d be alone.

All of the people are just here for her.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Zoe Mize

Somewhere between single and not, sane and insane, and broke and also broke. I like to write, and sometimes I need a break at my desk. I'm a 22 year old just winging it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.