Poets logo

The Feeling of You

A poem to my lover

By Alice B. Schellinger. Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

your voice has the same effect on me as a cup of morning coffee;

enveloped in a pocket of warmth, I continue to sit with it, savouring every drop and slowing the process of inevitably reaching the bottom of the cup.

but, on some mornings, one cup is not enough.

I put in another K-cup and turn on the machine,

brewing a second cup so that I may enjoy more moments of warmth.

and when I draw back the covers and crawl into bed at the end of my long days,

those cups of coffee become the weighted blanket,

satin sheets,

and memory foam pillows that soothe my aching bones and lull me into the deepest sleep

I dream of your voice,

the touch of your hands,

those sweet kisses you leave on my forehead and nose,

the way you lay your head between my shoulder and neck when you hug me close,

the way I always feel so safe when you’re near

if only there were more cups of coffee,

more memory foam pillows,

more satin sheets,

more weighted blankets.

maybe then I wouldn’t have to wait for dreams to bring you to me anymore

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alice B. Schellinger.

Hostess of the SchellingtonGrin Podcast. Writer of poems, short stories, articles, and reviews. Support the SchellingtonGrin Podcast on Spotify and connect with me here and on other socials to be part of the Community

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • McKenzie McQuade2 years ago

    Delicious and dreamy. I've never imagined a lover being like my favorite drink

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.