Poets logo

The Failed Poet

This Is Me At This Very Moment

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
The Failed Poet Will Win Just Once by Mike Singleton with NightCafe

I have poems to write and stories to write but have been having a bad week.

I need to do this to purge my feelings and am going to share "To Win Just Once" by The Saw Doctors. "Same Oul' Town" is a gorgeous album and was playing as I put these words down feeling like a failed poet.

I know I Am Not, thanks to the empathy and love of my Vocal Friends and Audience. You Know who you are.

֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎

I Want To Write A Poem

But I Just Can’t Make It Rhyme

Yes I Know The Words Will Come

But I Fail Every Time

֎֎

The Words Aswirl In My Head

And The Wrong Ones Still Fall Out

This Story’s A Broken Thread

A Failed Poet Full Of Doubt

֎֎

Yes I Have A Thousand Words

None of Them Will E’er Be Heard

Sheets Of Vellum Still Are Blank

Ideas Don The Drain Sank

It Happens Every Time

Poet Fails I Cannot Rhyme

֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎֎

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Millsteed 2 years ago

    A horrible feeling my friend. I know from experience.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I heat ya. Somedays you just don't have. Maybe just scream a d write whatever cones out.

  • Sometimes I feel like I’m a failed writer because I have a harder time with it than I used to. I used to be able to write for hours. The creativity never ended. Now it’s more difficult for me. I blame adulthood.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.