Poets logo

The Eyes Of A Mirror

Throwback Poetry Series (2001)

By Seth ThomasPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
5
The Eyes Of A Mirror
Photo by Waldemar Brandt on Unsplash

I'm in and out of this world.

I'm future, present and past.

I'm going so fast,

I don't even know where I'm at.

No need for holding me back

'cause I'm the last in line.

I'm blind,

falling backwards down the Path of Life.

It feels like death;

like I left myself behind.

Witness a glimpse of the wimp I try my best to hide.

Be my guest.

Yes,

go ahead.

Press rewind.

Regress into the depths of this mastermind.

Don't get upset at the ragged mess

that you find.

I've mastered minds.

I just haven't mastered mine!

I keep my eyes on the prize to see what shines inside -

a history lesson:

hidden message from my master's mind!

The eyes of a mirror don't lie.

There's no surprise;

no hiding from the truth inside.

Like ducks on a pond,

stuck in the beyond

swimming circles on the surface 'til my sanity's gone.

I need to dig down deep

until I reach

rock bottom of this ocean of problems.

Swallowed,

head first,

I've fallen.

The only way to solve 'em

revolves around me

and involves my ability to switch personalities

and flip my reality

upside-down!

Get right with the king in me.

Trust my sounds.

I was restless but guess what.

When I messed up,

I 'fessed up.

Then, I got blessed with the best love!

Next what?

I gave up on the masquerade.

That's charades!

It's time to throw the mask away!

My reflection in the glass doesn't have to fade.

Perhaps today,

that's where I met my match and made

the decision to get right

'cause living a lie

in a disguise,

soon or later starts tricking the mind.

It isn't easy.

Believe me.

Look in these eyes.

Inside hides my fears and tears I still haven't cried.

The eyes of a mirror don't lie.

There's no surprise;

no hiding from the truth inside.

That's right!

Deep inside,

these eyes,

they don't lie.

There's no hiding the truth and no denying the proof.

Every time I light up the fuse,

I tighten the noose

on purpose like I'm trying to lose!

I'm flying right through,

bouncing off the walls of life,

blind-folded with my hands tied

holding a knife.

This is MY life, right?

Or wrong?

How long will it be before my breath is gone?

Not long if I continue on the path I've traveled on.

What hasn't killed me really made me stronger!

No longer will I be the type of guy that no one listens to.

Yes it's true.

When you do,

you'll rarely hear me dissin' you!

My mission dude,

is lifting you up until it dizzies you!

I'm living proof of gifted youth

in pursuit of reaching rock bottom

and solving all of these problems.

I got

to call the fallen to follow and not be hollow but solid as rock!

The YouTube video of me performing these words A Capella and on-the-spot by volunteer request in the kitchen at the Denver Rescue Mission in 2016 can be found here.

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Seth Thomas

EXPLICIT CONTENT! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Seth Thomas is a self-contained asylum for corrupt entities and vigilante heroes; currently locked inside his own brain cell, being CrAzY Creative!

https://vocal.media/humans/i-m-alive-i7c7z04y9

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.