Poets logo

The Everchanging Modeling Scene

The Workshop Collection

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I was changed the moment that

Reality showed me the rat

Looking for cheese

Doing as it darn well, please

Thought it was time to relax in my lap

Concerned I was in an envious social world trap

Wondering if people thought I was a spoiled brat

Feeling a sudden burn

Flaming the need for tables to be turned

Once again

Having to defend

My cherished looks

Luring superficiality as a hook

To get that engagement ring wish

Using the pole watching performing fish

Staring at me like an entrée see food dish

This was all a long time ago

When I wanted attention from an audience watching a show

Displaying beauty having a glow

But now I ponder here

Vaccinated from the heartbroken emotional tears

Putting up with the rat chugging down many beers

“What do I look like

Get up and take a hike”

On that command

The rat replied to my demand

Scurried back to hide

Not saying goodbye

Only a sigh

Knowing somewhere there was a lie

Now having a reason needing a transition

No longer was I interested in this theatrical staged mission

Singing and dancing

Choreographed prancing

Or sitting on this chair

Entertaining those who care

For a minute as we share

Our time

In being kind

Before going our separate ways

Wondering It would even be remembered in a couple of days

Waving a magical wand

I moved on

Knowing there was adventures out there

Worthy of taking a dare

Enrolled in the higher education school

Seeking knowledge no longer a fool

Armed with maturity and life tools

Heading to class

There I do pass

An honest conversation

Reality I was facing

What did I find

In this talk I did not decline

Another person like me

Challenged in earning a degree

And over a cup of tea

Discussion just to see

My actual professional range

And if things were going to change

Into something new

Realizing all the things I can do

Other than looking good to who

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.