Poets logo

The Ending Is The Best Part

Cyclical

By SouluminosityPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Ending Is The Best Part
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

The past lives I’ve lived didn’t settle to easily. Not the one’s on this terrain, but the ones buried in my chakras. The ones I decided to make a memory out of instead of a fossil, recounting the origin of them and the death of them countless times. As a memory, my mind can forget when it is convenient. It will not stay with me forever.

But I am more than a mere observer of these lives. They cry out to me in the middle of the night and I shoo them away and I start crying too. They shout for me to listen to their stories again, but my ignorance sees them as my audience. Just people who view me as a specimen and not as a human. And perhaps, I am not.

Some days my skin feels too tight and my bones, too loose. Like someone could unzip me at any moment and what lies beneath would cause the grim reaper to show up at their doorstep. But it is not this that I mind. It’s those memories, those fossils, that creep up under this flesh suit instead.

So when I think the atmosphere around me is pure, and I can finally take a big inhale of crisp air, I get hit with jarring emotion instead. I have captivated misery because what lies beneath my organs has not told its story.

And so here I am, ripping up the seams of every thread and letting the contents penetrate the air until I choke. and when I lose consciousness, my spirit will be free to fossilize these memories, and formulate some concoction of sentences to tell their story.

It begins at the beginning and at the end.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Souluminosity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.