Poets logo

THE END

The waiting is the hardest part...

By Dylan Stewart Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

THE END

I just can’t wait

For this to be over

This growing up

This perpetual waiting

For my life to begin

Don’t treat me like a child

Don’t act like you’re so superior

Just because I’m young

Doesn’t mean I’m dumb

I just can’t wait

I’m ready to step up

To step into

This next level

Of my life

I just can’t wait

For these teenage years

To be behind me

The constant challenge

Of being accepted

Of being popular

Of being seen

Is too much for me

I long for the days

Of my childhood

Parents doting endlessly

Constant affection

And attention

This teenage thing

Just isn’t what I was promised

I just can’t wait

To step up

And step into

The life I was promised

The life stretched out

Endlessly before me

The promise of freedom

And eternal possibilities

I’m ready to go

I just can’t wait

For these working years

To be behind me

For time to settle down

Build my family

Build my life

This day to day grind

Is grinding me down

Leaving me crumbled

And cracked and broken

I long for those days

Of my long forgotten youth

A teenager with life ahead

A child with everything provided

I’m tired of working

And striving and driving

I’m weary of endlessly

Giving my all

Giving my soul

Giving my time

For the almighty dollar

I long for those days

Of freedom and frolic

I’m ready to step up

To step into what’s next

A lifetime of leisure

Retired and relaxed

My feet on the lounge chair

A drink in my hand

My lover beside me

My children to care for me

I just can’t wait

For the workdays to be behind me

I’m ready to let go

Of this life of perpetual struggle

I just can’t wait

For this ride to be over

I’m tired and lonely

My bones are all creaky

I’m weary and worn

My best years behind me

I squandered my promise

I long for the days

As a worker with purpose

With my fortune still waiting

My hands deep in creation

My family beside me

But now I have nothing

Nothing left to wait for

But another passage

Another day’s dreaming

Another life’s calling

The next world is waiting

I just can’t wait for this to be over

I shouldn’t have rushed it

I wish I had enjoyed it

The innocence of childhood

The promise of youth

The potential of my work years

The dreams of retirement

I spent them all longing

For the next day to come

For the next gift to be given

For the next page to be turned

And I never enjoyed

Even the simplest moments

Too busy and eager

Too foolish and short sighted

And now it’s all over

And what did I gain?

Maybe a lifetime of love

An eternity of memories

A wealth of wisdoms

A circle of friendships

A million smiles

A deluge of delight

A mastery of the moments

As I watched them pass by

I guess I can wait

Slow my breath and take stock

Of the wonders of life

Of the gifts that I’ve got

Thank you for this day

I’ll hold on to it for a moment

It’s enough to hold onto

I think I can wait...

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.