Poets logo

The Dream

A Personal Experience

By Diego EstevezPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

The “American Dream” is a very subjective thing.

Each person interprets it differently.

My “Dream” has been much more of a nightmare

since I came, I’ve had some good experiences, but I’ve also gone through Hell.

Dealing with the prejudice and jeers from my peers due to my skin,

Being called things like an “illegal Mexican,” or other things akin.

When you’re a kid, those things hurt,

Though, now, I throw those comments on the dirt.

I’ve found my Faith, my religion,

And I know I can always fall back on it, and I’ll be okay.

Regardless of the painful things I’ve gone through,

There have been great goods, too.

I met my second best friend, and I’m a citizen.

That means I can eventually bring my absolute best friend, my father to be with me.

I've made bad decisions, as we all have,

but all we can do is accept them and learn what we can.

Don't let those bad decisions define you or control you over your lifespan.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Diego Estevez

Hi, all! I'm Diego, a writer set to unleash storytelling magic. Join me as we explore emotions and new worlds. You, dear reader, are vital to this journey. Immerse, feel and experience my tales. Let's embark on a literary escapade!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.