Poets logo

The Difference In What We See

The different realities

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
3

I see a beautiful soul in need of comfort,

After the agony life has dictated,

You see a drunken foolish woman,

One that you’d like to see naked.

***

I see a crying unhappy baby,

Hungry and tired at that,

You see an annoyance,

Just a screaming brat.

***

I see a man living in a bottle,

Agonised and tormented,

You see a deadbeat drunk,

Someone just discontented.

***

I see a boy with very little confidence,

Raised in the brokenness of life,

You see a rebelling teenager,

Causing untold strife.

***

I see a teenage pregnant woman,

Destroyed by a man that ravaged her,

You see a deadbeat whore,

To have allowed that to occur.

***

I see an old man begging on the street,

Never knowing where his next meal will come from,

You see a vagabond,

Who has no place in society to belong.

***

I see an elderly woman,

With the beauty shining through from her youth,

You see a frail old human being,

One who is suddenly of no use.

***

I see a middle age man in his rich sports car,

Overcompensating for his horrid childhood,

You see an arrogant man showing off his riches,

Looking down on you as if you’re no good.

***

I see a haggard woman with her three children,

Trying to get through a long hard day,

You see someone who has let herself go,

Deserving of her dismay.

***

I see a middle aged plump woman,

Distraught over the change in her body due to menopause,

You see an ugly woman with no shame,

Dismissing what the hormones have caused.

***

I see with the compassion in my heart,

Allowing me to feel the pain and torment they keep undercover,

You, however, take things at face value,

As you judge every book by its’ cover.

***********************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirationalsocial commentary
3

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece.

  • I love the concept you've used here, of seeing the same things with different perspectives. It's true, we shouldn't judge a book by It's cover or before we've walked a mile in their shoes. There will always be a story behind why they are the way they are. The world needs more compassion, not judgemental idiots. Loved your poem so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.