Poets logo

The darkness within

cracks wide open with the light

By Lee NaylorPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The darkness, holding me to the ground

Keeping my mind noisy, always running full of sound

Never quiet never safe, always running on the fears

Outside forces here to help, pain doesn't stop the tears

The darkness a friend, smothering me with lies

The light so far away, the pain laughing behind my cries

I lay in the darkness, wanting sympathy

My soul deep inside, trying to break free

My heart shattered in a million pieces, empty hole inside my chest.

My brain laughing at the madness, a regular fear fest.

Then a crack inside the darkest pit I've ever known

seeds pushed inside the darkness, water seeping to the bone

the outside world still far away, the inside changes from stone

the seed breaks open , a small tendril of hope

the dark is warm , the seed helps me cope

We begin to see that we are all we have, but we are not alone

Tendrils of green breaking free, rising to the light that shone

In the darkness clawed my way up through the muck

never looking back down to the place I was stuck

Gasped for breath when the earth cracked open and I emerged

burst forth cold, alone and now alive, feeling the darkness purged

Reborn of the light shining from within

sparked by the seeds we planted when we were driven

Beginning tendrils of a life I've always known was hidden

filling all the little cracks, facing down the demons bidden

The years roll by, the roots reach down into the earth

waiting for the day the light announces my rebirth

Questioning all the little things I thought I knew

growing faster with each lesson learned, slurping in the morning dew

reaching for the moon light, and the stars so far away

twinkling with energy rising with the sun towards a brand new day

My soul singing with hope of it's newest freedom

My heart whole again, always worthy to be full and free of venom

Recognizing when I am aligned because it's the shit

better than any drug, better than anything I ever saw fit

Fill me up with light, Fill me up with love

My cup runneth over and love ripples out from above.

Starting to see it all, starting to all make sense

I am you and you are me and we are whole looking with a different lens

I have my path, my very own plan

You have your path that you left to scan

I've learned to let go, I've learned to pick me

I've learned to move on, I've learned to choose to be free

Growing through the layers that seep into dreams

begging to be loved, once held they burst at the seams

I've learned to see the beauty inside of my journey

learned that I had what I wanted all along , I didn't see

Now I've learned that one too, time moving super speed

Seems I'm picking it up faster, my frequency growing each day

Call in the angels, ask to see the signs that I need to stray

Standing back to see the bigger picture, things are moving upward

Karma bringing me what I put out, lets make it push us forward

My love is high, my worth is good

I'm learning lessons you wouldn't have understood

Thank you all for being in my path you beautiful souls

everyone that hurt me, everyone that thought I was only worth coals

I'm shining now despite it all, still loving like I own it all

I'll never not be me, rising like I couldn't really fall

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.