Poets logo

The Dark

Don’t be afraid

By The Girl in GreyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Written 4/4/2009

Be scared of the dark, that's what they all say

But, you see, us two go way back

The blanket that hides free faces, but always stays

It protects me when the fear attacks

Hush now child, listen to me sing for you

Let me wash away all of these big grins

It's astounding; this scarcity of truth

Of all the lies, I wouldn’t know where to begin

Heart beating faster, wind embracing me with its fleeting love

My hair is washed and now so is my soul

Surrounded by serenity craving entities

Who have always been with me now and before

Wind chimes slamming against one another

Water pipes bursting down below

No father in sight, lacking like the mother

But, I won't let my heartbreak show

Let me be where I was born in

The leaves blow to me closer and closer

Let me forget all of theirs and my own sins

Idiots talking, "we have the most of her

Love always,

Chayle

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.