Poets logo

THE DARK SIDE OF THE WORLD AND THE BRIGHT SIDE OF IT

A short poem for this world

By Roy FloresPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Igor Morski

The birds are singing

The flowers are blooming.

The sun is shining

What a wonderful day

It's time to wake up.

I go to the bathroom and wash my face

Dry my face with a towel

And start my day

Make a hot coffee to make me awake

Hot omelet and bacon is on my plate

I open the TV and watch the news

I'm in shock what I've seen as I'm watching the news

Dishonest politics,

Comes and goes like the wind.

No one knows where it's going,

Or where it began.

The economy is going low

prices are hiking

We're all in debt

we're spending more than we make

and we can't afford to cope!

The price is hiking up but the economy's going low

People starving to death and thirst.

The government should know

There's a war going on around the world, all over the place

Night and day

A pandemic turns endemic

Never ends

Wealth is being created and hoarded, while the rest of us suffer

Rich people getting rich, poor people getting poor

People are fighting for their rights.

People are struggling to live in peace and harmony

While watching this news I am thinking

How cruel this world could be

But there is nothing we can do

It's destiny

I think it's time for us to be grateful for what we have.

We have a home

We have food on our table and a roof over our head.

We have clothes on our back and shoes on our feet.

We are lucky

I know that sometimes life gets hard

But you don't need to complain about it

because someone else has it worse than you do!

We should value what we have and don't forget to thank up above.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Roy Flores

Writing has always be a part of my life.It Is a dream,my passion and my hobby that become a reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.