Poets logo

The cycle

A poem by Qwill R. Brennan

By Qwill R. BrennanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The cycle
Photo by Joel Filipe on Unsplash

Running,

running,

I'm always running,

when I stop the floor below me falls away again,

and again,

and again.

I've learned to go through the cycle

allowing myself to drift through time and space.

where a man competes for pointless affection.

where children grow old and sad.

where the scariest things in the world are horseflies and dead men.

I'm tired of drifting,

of not understanding

the quiet mutters in my brain turning me into a hopeless creature.

The day something interesting happens

I'll fly from this realm

back into reality,

perhaps as a hero, or a monster

At least I'm living

and the cycle can continue through my eyes alone.

goodbye,

old friend,

new enemy,

and all in-between

the sky and the ground.

truly yours, The Soulless

love poems
1

About the Creator

Qwill R. Brennan

I write stories, not much to say. I enjoy playing with reality. Writing more weird stories like twilight zone-type stuff. I’ve recently been diving into horror as of late.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.