Poets logo

The Creative High

Finding Flow

By Renee FesserPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
The Creative High
Photo by Katherine Hanlon on Unsplash

I was laying on the acupuncture table this week for stress and pain relief when inspiration flooded. A different kind of high followed a wave of sweet inspiration.

Most of you have likely heard about " the runner's high, the euphoric bliss after sex, and the paternal flood after giving birth" these are examples of sweet natural highs. There are more of these heightened states I assure you. You likely have experienced many during the course of your lifetime. I have too yet, the acupuncture high and flood of ideas was a new one.

I am hooked!

Why didn't anyone tell me?

I floated off the table and started rambling ideas and the acupuncturist my brother in law had a little giggle.

The pain and stress was gone and what was replaced was a brain on fire with ideas and a desire to get it all written down.

The car drove peacefully home that night.

After oatmeal and an orange I settled into writing and vowing to schedule in more acupuncture.

The only explanation is this, the treatment created a pure heightened meditative state in which my brain was happy and what does my brain do when it is feeling good? My brain creates!

Now don't take my word for it- get dialing and book yourself in for some Chinese Medicine and a creative jolt.

As I finish this I am off to Tai chi class and who knows there might be some sweet inspiration there too! Where energy flows creativity grows.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Renee Fesser

Renee is writer, therapist and lover of life and love. She loves working with people helping them to live their best lives. As an artist Renee continues to explore what this means. She loves writing about self help, love and poetry .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    I’ve just realised you are the French fanatic haha which I read last week. 😊I’m literally in the (laser) acupuncture’s waiting room right now. So responded to your piece. Yes please go try people. 😁It depends what he does but sometimes I feel a lot better… but I’m glad you are feeling so creative after - that is excellent. 👍🙏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.