Poets logo

The Cradle

Like Prisoners Assessing Their Lunch, Babies Crying out to Be Satiated, Rocking Back and Forth in Their Cradle

By Keegan RoembkePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

The cat’s cradle, carefully

feigning design

unable to follow

losing sight of the line

The baby’s cradle, blissfully

rocks to and fro

intermittent cries

then to sleep it goes

Civilization’s cradle, bravely

chooses a leader again

anger, delusion, lies

we accept the leader’s sin

Switch on the cable, unconsciously,

yes, there, take it all in

distraction, ego, drama

I see we’re trapped from within

Complacently fueling my hope

Sitting in the wet sun with a coffee for my time outside

how poetic is my dreary, utopian circumstance

Woe is me, I have nothing to worry about

No physical problems to overcome

Is the worst problem not the comfort we’ve become?

The tornado came through and shook us all up

It woke something within us, perhaps, I hope

I hope more tornadoes whistle through

and rock, sway, blow the cradle below

rebalancing our information-action ratio

playing bitter games of environmental hocus pocus

Basking in the glory of forgetfulness

what was it I read just a moment ago?

Ah yes, a piece about hippies

Oh no, a story of hyper-masculine lust

I see the world is burning

I take another hit of content

I shake my head vigorously, denying the screen

I’m a prisoner to digital, flickering curiosity

Walk with me for a minute or three

We’ll go to the planet of loneliness

Let’s talk of our unexplainable struggles

the ones we can’t place or describe

Designating titles for new diseases

We created with our insatiable thirst

for quieting the baby in the cradle

and crafting our own cradle’s burst

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Keegan Roembke

I am a poet? and I didn't even know it??

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.