Poets logo

the corner booth

exploring time and space and self love

By Canaan TricePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
the corner booth
Photo by Hans Vivek on Unsplash

there’s a booth in the corner of my favorite coffee shop

i sit there contemplating what life has to offer

intently observing the world around me

desiring connection and growth

but what is it like to wear the weight of empathy?

.

.

this booth in the corner is where i rest my head

learning the lessons of love

love for this body,

this skin,

and all of the emotions and feelings living within

here lies the process, grit, and hard work that come with greeting vulnerability with a gentle kiss

.

.

i will let you in

please teach me how to see the girl in the mirror without a lens of condemnation and judgement

taking the time to lay down expectations and standards i’ve set for myself

there is no room for failure

a word that doesn’t exist in my vocabulary

.

.

the knowledge i hold

a culmination of trauma and grace

created to take up space

the booth in the corner reminds me i am loved too

.

.

freedom to runs through my hand onto the page

i'll lay it all out for you

exposed with truth

in this corner booth

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Canaan Trice

Hi, my name is Canaan. I am just a girl who loves to write about the life happening around me and within me. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.