Poets logo

The Conch Shell

A poem about a marvellous piece of natural wonder, decorating my bookshelf.

By Deborah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2021
22
The Conch Shell
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

A beautiful conch shell sits high up on a bookshelf in our hall. It has been kept up there to keep it safe from our daughter. It's precious and delicate, and although strong, I would hate to see any of its delicate whorls and peaks damaged. Recently, I began to look at it more closely, and I imagined the secrets it held, and the things the sea creature inside had seen over its long life. So, here is my poem,

The Conch Shell

Curves and crests,

Like some uneven Martian world.

Tapered to a point,

The peak of a fairy-tale castle in the sky.

She sits in a dry world, adorning a human home.

The place where we lay our ear,

A smooth cave into some magical mermaid palace.

The soft peach colour fades to ivory white.

Secrets whispered in a strange, unfamiliar voice.

And sounds like faraway worlds.

What did you see all those years ago

In your turquoise landscape?

Did you slip inside your pointed fortress

Safe from turtles and sharks?

A beautiful piece of nature's design.

Whorls and bumps laid down year after year.

Now the conch shell decorates my bookshelf,

An unworthy throne for majestic remains.

I hope you enjoyed reading my poem, and if you'd like to, you can read my other pieces, linked through my 'bio'. Thank you.

nature poetry
22

About the Creator

Deborah Robinson

I'm new to the 'writing for real' scene. Previously, I've kept my poetry and writing under wraps in a fancy notebook, but now I've decided to give it a proper go!

I hope you enjoy my work.

Thanks, Deborah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.