Poets logo

The Claddagh Ring

I Was Inspired to write These Words By Seeing Michael Portillo Tell The Story of The Claddagh Ring

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10
A Claddagh Ring

I saw Michael Portillo on a railway journey in Ireland finding out about the Claddagh and getting involved in making a Claddagh ring. I have always loved the design of them and it made be think of someone very close to me and she and the ring have come together to inspire these words.

This Claddagh Ring I Give To You

Because I know Our Love Is True

To Show I Hold You In My Heart

To Say We’ll Never Ever Part

֍

The Claddagh Ring Is For Your Hand

To Think Of Me And Understand

That I Will Always Be With You

And I Will Forever Be True

֍

You Are Forever In My Heart

Inspiring Me To Create Art

You Are My My Muse, I’m Always Yours

Our Love Will Forever Endure

This Claddagh Ring I Give To You

Because I know Our Love Is True

These are the four ways to wear the Claddagh Ring

  1. Right hand with the point of the heart toward the fingertips: the wearer is single and might be looking for love.
  2. Right hand with the point of the heart toward the wrist: the wearer is in a relationship; someone "has captured their heart"
  3. Left ring finger with the point of the heart toward the fingertips: the wearer is engaged.
  4. Left ring finger with the point of the heart toward the wrist: the wearer is married.

A simpler guide

performance poetry
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Millsteed 2 years ago

    Such an interesting meaning behind the ring and how it’s worn.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.