Poets logo

The Child with A Plane

How a child got me through the fears that followed a retrenchment

By PenFairyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Child with A Plane
Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

"We are sorry, but we have to let you go"

The words echoed in an absent mind.

Standing within a sea of rushing people

Yet feeling all alone.

Eyes transfixed on the concrete structure

Mind drifting in chaotic dance

Moments ago a carefree employee,

Now just a distraught ex-employee

A child runs with absolute joy,

Crashes into the open door.

The fallen child cries in pain for a moment,

His eyes fixes on his toy plane.

He picks up the dear plane

Examines with all seriousness

The tears are wiped away

The pain of the past is left behind

How simple life can be

And yet we forget as we walk longer on earth

A minor hiccup along the way

Is merely a door to new beginning

As a child focused on his toy

So shall I focus on achieving my goals

Retrenchment may be an end

But it is also a beginning to a new me

The child came as a guardian angel

Putting me back on my path

The empty heart blooms like a rose on a spring morning

Filling my being with a new sense of hope

I say farewell to an old chapter

Walking ahead hopeful of a better tomorrow

The joy, faith and hope within

Carved a smile on my face

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

PenFairy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.