Poets logo

The Child Returns

Christmas Child

By Valerie GesslerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

What a joy is Christmas! Every year it never fails.

Thanksgiving is merely a stepping stone to this most loved Holiday.

Year round I am swamped with fears, worries, bills, stress, and work.

I can't tell you how much this wears on my soul. No one wants to be stressed forever.

This is why, the moment stores put away their Halloween candy and bring out the Christmas trees, You will find me river dancing through the Christmas section in Walmart.

Christmas is when I can once again become the child I am at heart.

I will squeal with delight over making a gingerbread house.

I will be the first one at my neighbors door with cookies and a carol.

I will watch every Christmas movie I own as if its the first time I have seen it.

I do these things, because the brought me joy as a child, and even now that I am grown, it still fills me with joy.

Too often in America we are quick to protect our image. We will not risk looking like a fool in front of people even if the thing that is foolish is fun. Or worse doing a foolish thing due to pier pressure but its not fun at all.

Allow yourself the freedom to laugh and squeal, to get excited and cheer over small things.

The more you appreciate the little things, the more you appreciate the big things.

Try this Holiday season, look at all your festivities and traditions through the eyes of a child once again. I would be shocked if it doesn't make you smile. Merry Christmas.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Valerie Gessler

I’m Valerie Gessler,

I love to write stories that I pray will come alive as you read them. That you can put yourself in the characters place, and feel and experience the same breakthrough. I write from the heart. I hope you enjoy them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.