Poets logo

The Campfire

A poem

By Clayton OberquellPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

In the darkness of the woods,

Hope and warmth abide

In a golden glow of welcome light;

A spark ignites survival,

And the night is scattered

By crackling logs and orange flames.

Sitting quietly with friends,

Light and warmth combine

As sparks mingle with the stars;

Shadows dance among the trees,

And inhibitions are loosed—

The talking turns personal and relevant.

Dreams are shared and dreamt,

Laughter and stories linger in the night

Peppered by music from a playful guitar;

Songs are sung and memories are made,

And life takes on new meaning

As warm cocoa or cider infuses the scene.

People are wrapped in flannel,

And a furry friend rests in a waiting lap

With occasional kisses for the lucky;

Cheeks are glowing with cheery goodness,

And everyone is happy, immensely content

To be together around the welcoming

Campfire.

Eventually,

The flames dim to become deep embers,

And friends leave the fire for the warmth of a sleeping bag;

I am left alone with my profound thoughts, somewhat chilled

By the alpine night air, but still content in my aloneness—

I watch the embers die,

And the trees around me disappear

Into the night, wistful and dark,

But still remaining.

I do not want to leave,

Yet the fire is dying,

As all things do, eventually;

I am thankful for the campfire,

As I am thankful for friends;

Without them both,

I am lost in the darkness.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Clayton Oberquell

I love to explore our National Parks, wilderness and public lands with my Olympus camera. I live in Montana near Yellowstone NP, and I enjoy fly fishing, backpacking, and wandering. I write poetry, sing, and play piano for a living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.