Poets logo

The Call

That brought me back to you

By Serena TaylorPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember last year. Everday was dark. I was lost and I didn't know why

Then the sun started to peek over those mountains of sorrow that I let grow so high.

And now, a little ray of light

A teaspoon of yellow.

I felt better for a little while but the sun started to slip away again. I reached out for it. Holding on as long as I could.

I was finally okay. I could walk the whole day without crumbling into a puddle of sadness.

But it wasn't quite right. There was something missing. There was something calling my name. It came from the other side of the mountains.

Soft at first and I mistook it for the wind.

Then a little louder, it sang to me like a song bird. It was so peaceful, I didn't think it could ever be mine.

But then I saw you, and the call became a pounding in my chest. It rang throughout my entire body like the bass beat at a rock concert.

Something gave me the courage. I didn't stop to think. Then I was beside you.

And there we were, talking and smiling once again. I was lifted so high into the blinding sun that I didn't even notice when those mountains crumbled down into nothing.

Grass began to grow, and little yellow dandelions popped up all around us.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Serena Taylor

"I want adventure in the great wide somewhere" - Beauty and The Beast

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.