Poets logo

The Burden of the Choices We Make

Trade offs for health and wellbeing

By Marissa BendickPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I'm in my own personal hell

A torturous existence

of my own making.

I chose this.

The constant state of depravity,

dread and absolute agony.

I hate it here.

I'm getting angrier

Each waking second

but I must remain silent

Must endure the agonizing pain.

Speaking out against it only makes it worse

So, so much worse.

The ringing on my ears persists

One wrong move

sends bolts of lightning,

painful shocks of electricity

through my mouth and neck

Oh God, even my teeth are in agony.

I'm dying here

Starving

Withering.

Slowly.

Agonizingly.

I’m desperate.

But I chose this.

-Tonsillectomy.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Marissa Bendick

she/her.

Wife and mother.

Artist, writer, creator.

Exploring the vastness within me and manifesting authenticity and love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Excellent!!! From problem to solution, love it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.