Poets logo

The Blinding Bright Light

White Hell.

By Jack KirwoodPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I awake from my slumber numbers of sleep count three. Woken every 15 minutes with a blinding white light that burns bright right into the eyes many time before and after midnight. Alas breakfast is served. Starving from medication because of hallucinations, I take my seat with much hesitation. I feel like I am suffocating for around me are the mentally insane in pain. As the walls are steel and white, not a speck of colour except the blood from sutures, from those who thought they had no futures. Temperature rating of sixteen degrees C. all do not feel free. Involuntary treatment order restricts them from seeing the sea.

Breakfast arrives putrid so much so that cupid would cry. It makes us want to die. Banana's for I, with an allergy that makes my throat seize. As well as some brown goo that tastes like poo. Poo which is no so easy to do, within the PICU. Because the toilet is metal without a seat. I wish I didn't eat yesterday's meat. The guards referred to as SPECIALS watched as I went to the toilet and showered.

Traumatised and desensitized, PTSD' I couldn't bare to see my brother during his disaster. Because the white walls, blinding white light that ignites my soul. Will forever haunt. Awe awaits amid awful all.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jack Kirwood

Is freedom?

Reality meeting itself on its own terms, seeing through the looking glass, mirroring itself.

Absurdity, realism, wondrously weird and INSANE.

This is what you'll find,

Read bottom up.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.