Poets logo

The Blanket that Smells Like You

I sure wish it were you.

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
The Blanket that Smells Like You
Photo by Amin Hasani on Unsplash

When I only see you

Once in a while

When my every step

Feels like a mile

When you arrived inside

You hugged her first

When you could not sense

My love hunger and thirst

When dinner was eaten

She leaned on your shoulder

When my pace is simply

A million times slower

When sitting on couches

You two spoke things

When there's only you two

King and Queen

When the guests have left

And I scan the whole room

I see and grab the blanket

That smells like you

When there’s no one to blame

For leaving me out

I've only to blame

None other than self

When I don't hate her

And I can't hate him

I feel myself covered

In unconscious sin

When I walk up the stairs

With tears in my eyes

The blanket is mine

To cuddle in the night

When blankets smell bittersweet

From centre to hem

It’s imprinted inside

I'll never be like them

~~~~~

And I hold onto it tight

I have and always do.

Boy oh boy, _________,

I sure wish it were you.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you would like to support my writing, please consider liking my story, subscribing, pledging and/or tipping. Thank you for reading!

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.