Poets logo

The Birthing Of A New Day

Bashing me with its memories

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

As I wander along the crisp white sands,

I remember that day, just you and I,

The memories are blasted to the forefront of my mind,

Whenever I see that gorgeous orange sky.

***

The clouds were formed right then, right there,

For us to gaze upon in wonder, capturing the fiery blaze,

Knowing that day would be magically,

Remembered for all the following days.

***

It was near on dark at first,

Then the sky began to lighten,

As you talked of the future, the possibilities,

The promises as the day began to brighten.

***

It was as the sun peaked shyly over the far horizon,

That you confessed your love, your dreams,

The sky turned that brilliant orange,

When suddenly we were highlighted within its beams.

***

The water reflected the beauty of Mother Nature,

Shining pristine colour across our entire world,

It was a start of a brand new day,

As it was a brand new love unfurled.

***

I will never look at this scene in the very same way again,

Yes it’ll be beautiful every single time,

But it won’t be that first, that first everything,

As it was that day you first become mine.

***

If I ever want to relive the gloriousness of it all,

I’d just wake up slightly before dawn,

Wander down to the sand and watch in awe,

As the new day is magically born.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

love poems
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Thank you for taking us with you on you wander

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Beautiful!!!💕😊❤️

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    I love this! Good poetry, good style!

  • Awww, this was just to sweet!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece, as always.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.