Poets logo

The Bird or The Fly

"Which am I – The bird or the fly?"

By Derek EversPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Bird or The Fly
Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

Which am I –

The bird or the fly?

The bird

which flies

above so high

and further

beyond any understanding

to the undiscovered

parts of the world

through perils,

trials and tribulations,

snow and rain,

wind and sun,

it continues on

and is admired –

its purpose

never questioned

as it bounces

limb to limb,

flower to flower.

On the other hand –

The fly

which also flies

higher than most can reach

buzzes around

and in your ear

desperate to tell you

its annoying story

before fate's hand

should snuff it out

and the little fly

comes to an end,

it struggles on

and goes unnoticed –

its purpose

never seen

as it jumps

shoulder to shoulder,

window to window.

So the question remains:

The bird or the fly –

Which am I?

Check out my last poem "Embrace"

Check out my other poems, short stories, and blog posts!

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed, then please share, leave a like or a tip, or check out some of my other writing by clicking on my profile icon. Thank you for your support, I truly appreciate it!

Let me know your thoughts on Instagram (deverswriting) or Twitter (doitlikederk)

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.