Poets logo

The Barrier

A poem

By Zachary PhillipsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Everyone is talking,

Yet I can’t comprehend a thing.

I hear the words. See their lips move.

It falls on deaf ears. It makes no sense.

I nod and smile hoping to get it right.

‘Yes sir’, ‘No sir’, ‘Three bags full sir’.

I hope that was correct, not that it matters.

I can’t empathise with their displeasure.

They all speak in fast-forward,

Gibberish and rhyme.

It’s hopeless. The entire message is lost on me.

From the gist, down to each subtle nuance.

‘Yes sir’, ‘No sir’, ‘Three bags full sir’.

There is a barrier between us.

An invisible wall,

Filtering and coercing the message.

Are you talking to me?

What are you trying to say?

I put on my mask and begin to act.

It’s working, they believe me!

I’ve almost convinced myself.

Then they ask a question.

‘Yes sir’, ‘No sir’, ‘Three bags full sir’.

I am perplexed at their every word.

There is no context, no reason, no flow.

They come to me for advice, seemingly

Wanting me to act and put on a show.

What are they asking?

Why would they ask me? How can I respond?

I try to understand.

I ask questions and give advice.

I hope this is what you are wanting.

I hope it’s what you need.

‘Yes sir’, ‘No sir’, ‘Three bags full sir’.

Suddenly they are yelling at me,

Upset and displeased.

I can’t remember what I have done, or why

I’m wrong. I just know I am.

‘I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry.’

I see disappointment and shame in their eyes.

How can I fix this? How can I make it better?

‘I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry.’

Attempting to explain is useless,

A waste of time.

I can’t understand them, nor they me.

I beg and plead as best I can,

Praying that they give me another chance.

‘Yes sir’, ‘No sir’, ‘Three bags full sir’.

‘Yes sir’, ‘No sir’, ‘Three bags full sir’.

‘Yes sir’, ‘No sir’, ‘Three bags full sir’.

--

From the book, 'Words on a Page'. Out now as a paperback, eBook, and audio.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Zachary Phillips

Mental Health - Mindfulness - Self Help

https://www.zachary-phillips.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.