Poets logo

The Animals Clearly Said No

I was just not listening hard enough

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
11
The Animals Clearly Said No
Photo by Vadim Sadovski on Unsplash

I was going camping one night

Out in Mother Nature’s glory,

What I did not expect

Was an unbelievable story.

***

It took a four hour drive

To reach natural hot springs,

Absolute gorgeous countryside

Nature pulling my heartstrings.

***

Pitched my own tent

Setting up was a breeze,

Then out the corner of my eye

I see something and freeze.

***

A very large Taipan (snake)

Slithering in my direction,

A highly venomous breed

And I have no protection.

***

It chased me from my camp

Aggressively saying no,

I jumped on the picnic table

Cause there’s nowhere else to go.

***

Eventually it meandered away

In time for me to make dinner,

I’ll be able to cook my steak

Snake zero, Colleen’s the winner.

***

Waiting for the BBQ to heat

Still sitting on the picnic table,

When down swoops a hawk

I promise this is not some fable.

***

The hawk skimmed my shoulder

Leaving scratches quite deep,

Snatched up my piece of steak

And took off with a leap.

***

Can’t sleep in my tent

No, no, no said the snake,

Can’t feed my hunger

I’ve no longer any steak.

***

No, no, no said the hawk

Don’t worry I got your note,

It’s obvious I’m not wanted

There’s no need to gloat.

***

Ten minutes into the drive

Yes, I’ve definitely gone,

When out jumped a kangaroo

Really, I listened, come on.

***

I swerved to the right

Spun a few three sixty degrees,

Then backwards off the road

Only to slam into the trees.

***

I was a bit sore and sorry

But happy to be alive,

The cars all banged up

But it was okay to drive.

***

However, I did notice

That I had a flat tyre,

Was there no end to the day

This trip had gone haywire.

***

I managed to change the tyre

And get back on the road,

Mother Nature’s the winner

The animals clearly said no.

***************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

nature poetry
11

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this poem!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Superb poem. Loving it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.