Poets logo

The Acoustic Charriot

A Poem of One-Sided Love

By Will Helgren/OchalPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

From the moment you sat down in my car I felt like I was a shining knight in armor, my horse: the black Faraday cage that rolled beneath us, the dragon: another pointless endeavor of self-gratification over completion of the simple task of showing up through the action of gathering for entertainment.

I knew not why you were joining me for this late night excursion, but I was eager to be a close recipient of logic and love.

After a long wait of delving into human mistakes and stupidity, a thought dawned on me,

“Was I being a lackey of unbridled proportions?”

I didn’t know whether I was being honored for my work as a friend or the fact that I had a safe-haven space within my car. The thought truly worried me as we flipped a U-turn.

“Was I really just another kiddy-pool, set out to collect rain water.”

As we rolled back towards home, listening to new songs I realized that I was being stupid. It didn’t matter what I was, all that mattered was that I was there.

And, at least I didn’t forget anything.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Will Helgren/Ochal

I am an independant poet, artist, and musician who enjoys making things regardless of if people find my stuff but I love it when people do :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.