Poets logo

That's What Makes a Martyr

A political poem by ED 5/18/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
That's What Makes a Martyr
Photo by Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

With gas at four forty

Girls not lookin’ sporty

Covers of magazines

All thinking like machines

Kill babies save the bees

Uncensor the truth please

No one masks depression

Country in recession

Can’t find any blessing

Adults are regressing

They can’t take the pressure

When churned through the thresher

Separate goats from lambs

Run from battering rams

Admin’stration’s a joke

I’ll never bow to woke

Take a knee for my God

Dads ought not spare the rod

Laws should fight abortion

Primitive distortion

Of a truth objective

Perception's subjective

Try to make life harder

That’s what makes a martyr

I stand up for my faith

Shriek your hate like a wraith

Kill if only you could

I forgive it’s all good

If I die then I die

But I won’t live a lie.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.