Poets logo

That Goddess Energy Ish

A Poem

By Genesis GonzalezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I don’t know how to describe this moment

I just know that it hit me. You never admired me.

I scared you, I challenged you

You didn’t think you could meet the challenge?

You were not adoring of my spirit, you were jealous

You never marveled at my lust, you were envious!

When it suited you to be kind, your words were encouraging

You twisted your bitterness into a sweet cup of wine

And I swallowed eagerly

My vulnerable self the most naked for you to see

Your bearded mask hiding a scared boy

Wanting to wear the shoes of a man.

I may never know

Why the cigarette smoke on your lips intoxicated me

Wanting to wear the lingering taste around my tongue

A noose choking me

I may never know why I never saw the vast sea in your shallow eyes

Or why I tread those pool waters carefully

When I knew my body was created to plunge into the darkest caves of the ocean floor.

From my benevolent youth as a muse

I seal the well of creativity that over the years, I let so many drink

Only to find myself thirsty for the words I helped create

Simply existing as the cure for an old man’s loneliness

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Genesis Gonzalez

I know a lot about a lot of things, but I'm never one to claim to be an expert. Aspiring writer currently a butcher.

la_femmebouchere on instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.