Poets logo

Territorial

The 12th story of ‘Divine Revelation’.

By annie harperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Territorial
Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

You kept me boxed up in the house

And did not let me leave.

And when I tried to explore my cage

You told me it was forbidden.

You had time and money and chocolate

Tucked safely in your nest.

I wanted to share only a moment with you

But your best things were all hidden.

.

I think, perhaps, that may be why

You kept me trapped inside the house.

You loved me like a china doll

And stood me safe in the corner.

I tried to look around some more

But your thunderous warnings were frightening.

Nothing was allowed to happen to me

Because you’d make a pitiful mourner.

.

Your voice rang high across the heavens

Telling me to get back to my place.

I was not to disturb you or anyone.

So I would be where you knew I was

When the time came that you felt down

And needed me to pick you back up.

I would always be right where you left me.

You are my life-long reason and cause.

.

Now you’re a million miles away,

And trying to welcome me in.

I know you only want me now

Because I’m your favourite possession.

You sit there with your open arms

And alligator smile.

You treat me like a decoration

But I’m the one who heard your confession.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

annie harper

Just an actor from Central Queensland, writing some short stories and poetry. I hope you find one you like <3

TW: a lot of my work contains mentions of self-harm, suicide, death, abuse, and mental illness. Please be gentle with yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.