Poets logo

Tennessee Waltz

Southern Winter

By Susana's WorldPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
Tennessee Waltz
Photo by Jessica Knowlden on Unsplash

Southern living teases one into believing spring has arrived.

Handing out random seventy-degree days here and there, even in February. But it is not true. Don't plant your flowers, yet.

For I sit atop faded wicker with these early morning moments, wrapped in memory of yesterday's liquid gold upon my face. Winters gift of hope.

Two blocks away the city awakens as if she knows Sunday Mornins' Comin' Down. Silencing her noise like a hand covering breath.

It's just enough quiet to hear the rainfall rolling over this century old covered porch, holding onto stories I'll never know.

Closing my eyes to the water's rhythm, my heart beats in time like a beautiful Tennessee Waltz.

Thank you for reading!

If you enjoyed my last book "If I Saw You on Sunday" which was a fundraiser for a school in Mexico, I am currently working towards another book of my collective writings and have joined Vocal to help with the cost.

If you enjoyed the story enough to feel like adding to the "Tip" jar for my next endeavor, thank you & know I am ever grateful!

If you are here just simply enjoying a read, I am ever grateful for the support.

Please feel free to sign up for notifications on any new stories with your email. Safe & free!

Salud!

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susana's World

It is here I write about things that matter to me, and perhaps to you.

My words journey backward, forward and in-between, musing at this crazy but still beautiful world I was placed in.

For now.

Time is precious, so thanks for joining me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.