Poets logo

tenderness

leaning into a deep, gentle, loving relationship with the needs of my inner child

By gracie jenkins (she/her)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1

tonight i played

i played in the dappled sun shadows that land on my front door right before dusk to paint my cheeks with one last kiss of warmth

i twirled in my prettiest dress just because it makes me feel radiant and pretty and sexy and honestly a little giddy

(when i was little, each dress i bought had to withstand a twirl test and let me tell you younger me would look at all this tulle and sparkle with abounding glee)

i sprinkled rosy diamonds across the windowsill with blushing wine and watched them glitter in wonder

i danced to build me up buttercup like it was my sole purpose on earth and watched my feet float across the maple of my living room floor without even a second thought of shame

tonight, i played in the sheer euphoria of loving myself deeply, intimately, and gently.

tonight, i played in the beauty of my own unconditional self-tending.

tonight, i played in the sweet celebration of my soul, taking me on a joy ride to bliss on a thursday night at 7:48 pm

for no particular reason

except but to dance in my twirliest dress

on my living room floor.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

gracie jenkins (she/her)

home for honey sweet poetry and sapphic love, safe space for big feelings and nuanced conversations. a femme lesbian fairy writing and joy-searching in oklahoma. find me on instagram @graciejenkinss for more regular content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.