Poets logo

Teeth

A Poem

By Alexander M BoastPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Teeth - Depression

The following poem is a response to the artwork you see in the picture above, which is meant to represent poor mental health.

It was shown on display at the Unbroken Festival in London in 2018.

***********************************************************************

86 thousand odd seconds in a day

86 thousand dagger-like teeth

Gnawing, gnashing, nibbling away at me

At my foundations, my mind

Vultures,

Swimming in the ocean skies of my thoughts

Pecking at my bones

Every day, a little less left

I hate these teeth

But we can’t live without them

86 thousand lies in my mouth

86 thousand tears in my mind

Devouring, feasting

On what's left of my soul

Demons,

Flying through the sea of my actions

Swallowing me whole

As I become the ghost of me

I hate these teeth

But I can't live without them

art
Like

About the Creator

Alexander M Boast

Writer of copy and writer of fiction - specifically ghost stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.