Poets logo

Teach Me

When our teachers have agendas our knowledge of the world becomes skewed. Only until we see through the agenda will we begin to see. Sometimes our teachers are parents, friends, or an entire institution bigger than any one person. Who is teaching you about the world and most importantly, what do they want from you?

By Victoria SadowskiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Teach Me
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Teach me,

Or I will learn.

Teach me, for I am lost.

Teach me, for I know not.

Teach me things that I don’t know,

Things that will make you grow.

Teach me,

About what might happen if I stray.

Teach me, and I shall obey.

For a time anyway.

Until your lessons are long ago.

Teach me how much you know,

How you'll go so very low.

Teach me,

About how little you care.

Do things that I wouldn’t dare.

Teach me to swear,

that I won’t despair.

Teach me,

What it means to learn.

Teach me what I must do to earn,

the ability to discern.

Teach me how to see,

How to be free.

Won’t you teach me?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Sadowski

I write. I make. I love all things mysterious.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.