Poets logo

Tattooed Heart on my Sleeve

The Art of Painful Scars

By Annie Edwards Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2

They say that tattoos are permanent.

Even tattoo removal, if you’ve “outgrown” your allure to it, won’t rid you of every trace of it’s existence.

⚠️ Proceed with caution. ⚠️

You know what else is permanently etched into your body? What else is never fully erased?

Scars.

⚠️Proceed with caution. ⚠️

A picture may say a thousand words, but there is so much more to tell… What is invisible to the naked eye still has a story to unveil.

My physical body is the vessel for my true being; my soul…

My true being is the vessel to my journey; my life’s purpose….

And my PAIN is the vessel to my ‘key to life,’ yet, will I open the right door?

Such a debilitating pain…

It’s existence has “scarred me for life,”

possessing such a powerful hold that at times has

viscously contained me…

Then, only through my acceptance of life’s challenges and the broadening perspective that brings,

viscously trained me…

shaped me into who I am today.

Even if scars are not easily visible, their existence does not cease.

So…I choose to turn my pain and heartache, the seemingly ugly scars I will forever carry, into my beautiful masterpiece…

My pain is my art, and I wish to share it with the world…

Dear Pain,

You’re the tattooed heart on my sleeve,

permanently leaving your mark on me that I proudly wear for all to see.

I choose to turn these ugly scars into something beautiful; my one of a kind masterpiece.

That’s my only sense of a reprieve.

What can you gain from your pain? Don’t let your suffering be all in vain.

Take what life gives you

and use it to give back to life,

but in a beautiful way.

You are a gift to the world.

🎁 Allow yourself to be opened.🎁

artheartbreakinspirationallove poemssocial commentary
2

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.