Poets logo

Tales of the Asylum

From the 2nd story window of this asylum

By Manic RantingsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Tales of the Asylum
Photo by Nathan Wright on Unsplash

The illuminating skyline,

Glowing in the distance like glimmering white stars.

Where the city lives on

Without me.

The small cemetery existing in solitude

Lit up by the window stars behind it

From the 2nd story window of this asylum.

'Fall risk' says the wrist of the stranger I share this space with.

She sobs through the early hours of the morning and stabs at her arm with a pencil

Begging to go home.

I don't sleep.

The door creaks open every 15 minutes

I always open my eyes and sit up.

Startled.

The sun rises and there's a knock at my door and a beautiful voice on the other side saying my name.

'Walk with me?'

I slip on my socks and join him in a stroll through the hallways.

Manic Rantings~

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Manic Rantings

Hi everyone! I'm new to vocal. I'm a poet and I hope you all enjoy my poems🥰

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.