Poets logo

Take Care

A poem on the importance of rest and self-care in an uncaring world.

By Camille Ora-NicolePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Take Care
Photo by Do Nhu on Unsplash

Take care.

It's the fair thing

to do in a world

that hates you.

**

I see you, I see you

I see you, I see you -

**

I see tendrils of doubt

in hair like witchcraft

cascading down your back,

wrapping around your chest,

choking out any hope that's left.

**

I see your limbs

held together with pins,

metallic cartilage for a body

that couldn't stop its

mutilation via team salvation

on a grassy field.

**

I see your heart;

it never healed,

never realized the

blood in its valves

could grow flowers

on its own, it's a heart that's

only had temporary homes.

**

I see your eyes, empty,

once gleeful of

a closet full of trophies,

a legacy of insanity,

woefully unseen,

blissfully aware -

**

Please take care,

you don't want to go there.

Unbend your back

and stand, and stretch,

and wash, and rest.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Camille Ora-Nicole

Hi! I'm a writer, artist, placemaker, and producer from Southern California. When I'm not writing, I'm drawing, and if i'm not drawing I'm working on a project, and if not doing any of that, i'm Netflix and chillin'. IG: @oracami_studio

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.