Poets logo

Take A Seat And Look Around You

A Video-poem by Anton Knight

By Antoine Therrien ChevalierPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Enjoying this beautiful day through the forest trails,

All alone, under the hot sun, crawling like a snail,

Exhausted, I’d finally rest by finding a seat,

I let myself be lulled by the nature’s beat,

A comfort to be away from the city’s rowdy street,

I fell often and it’s hard to come back to your feet,

In all its banality, brutality, cruelty, unfairness,

Life deserves to be lived if we found happiness, together.

Then after a while, as if I brought by the wind,

A man came to disturb my peace of mind,

I ain’t saying you treated me unkind,

But a place like that is hard to find,

A place like heaven where I am hurled,

I cannot be heartless to the fate of a little girl,

When I see how the world turns upside down,

I will do everything to restore the peace once found.

Man stop reading the news

¨Why do you have the blues?

How can you not see life in beauty¨?

It is hard when it mistreats you cruelly

When I see the world and all its absurdity,

I was weakened by the violence of this reality.

The soil is blood red because of the war,

When will we learn that we have gone too far?

The waters are poisoned with rotting flesh,

Outside, the air is no longer so pure and fresh,

The trees are dead and burning,

If being rich is your yearning,

It will lead to really nothing,

If the Earth is slowly dying,

Now is the time to cure her,

Before it is too late,

Before we say our last prayer.

Have a nice thought to our children

And those who will live the following years.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Antoine Therrien Chevalier

I am a multidisciplinary artist who mainly uses visual arts such as photography, film, video art or performance to express myself, but my favorite tool is writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.