Poets logo

Taboo Parenting Practices

Taking Mental Health Days

By Caitlin FladagerPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2

I could tell my 6 and 8 year old desperately needed a mental health day.

A break from everyday life.

A break from me saying “no!” all the time.

Just a break.

Like we all need sometimes.

So I booked a lake house, emailed their teachers, packed their suitcases, and off we headed for a couple days.

I bought them snacks I would always say no to if it wasn’t a mental health day.

I let them bring their Nintendo switches inside a restaurant we were eating dinner at.

I let them stay up past their bed time, sit by the fire, and dance around.

I let them colour in their rooms, and rubbed their backs as long as they wanted, when I would normally say “mommy’s hands are tired” after 2 minutes.

And what I noticed this day, when I said “yes” way more often than “no”, was my kids happiness.

They seemed happy.

Playful.

Excited.

They set their own boundaries.

I didn’t even have to tell my son to turn off his game at the restaurant when the food came.

He just did it.

I didn’t have to fight with my kids to go to sleep, after saying yes to a fire.

Yes to colouring.

Yes to back rubs.

They just went to bed.

No “one more hug”.

No “one more kiss”.

No “I need water”.

When they woke up the next morning, I said yes to chocolate chip muffins.

I said yes to an extra hour at the playground.

I realize there is many times where I can’t always say yes, but there’s many times that I can.

And this day was one of them.

Tomorrow we will return home, and they will return to school.

A lot more refreshed, a lot more calm, and a lot happier.

As a mom, I am always so caught up in making sure that I get break.

That I get time away.

That I get lazy days.

That I get treat days.

I often forget that my children need, and deserve them, too.

So, I packed up my kids, let them miss a couple days of school, and said yes way more than I said no.

But I think it was needed.

We all need those days sometimes.

Especially our little ones.

Giving my kids a mental health day, and just giving them a break in general, will become a tradition I hope to carry on for years to come.

humanitylove poems
2

About the Creator

Caitlin Fladager

Mother | Wife | Mental Health Advocate

Telling my "Reel" truth about marriage & motherhood on Instagram, Facebook, Tiktok & Vocal

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    I honestly wish I'd read this 25 years ago! I feel warm and fuzzy all over - you sound like a goid mum!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.